Training Programmes

This section features information on training programmes and posts offered:

Advanced Hepatology Training posts 2017

These ATPs are approved for advanced training in Hepatology, including experience in a transplant unit, with a view to subspecialty accreditation providing other requirements are met. Posts will be recruited as per 2016 through a national process hosted by Health Education South London. Recruitment will open 3rd November for 4 weeks via https://www.oriel.nhs.uk/Web/Vacancies and interviewing will take place during the week of 23rd January with interviewers from the host centres. Posts will commence in line with the national rotation date - Monday 4th September 2017. Around the time of the Gastroenterology PYA a separate electronic PYA form is filled in to inform the JRCPTB to expect subspecialty accreditation in Hepatology and with any outstanding requirements.

The posts are aimed primarily at trainees who will be entering ST6 in September 2017 although entry at ST5 or ST7 is also permissible. If a trainee exits a post early due to unforeseen circumstances (eg pregnancy, but not research) every attempt will be made to re-accommodate the trainee at a later date without the need for re-application. Trainees should not apply if their CCT date will not allow post completion. Regarding LTWT, at 60% a trainee would need to sit in the post for 2 years whereas at 80% a trainee could complete in a year providing other accreditation requirements are met (24 m total). Trainees who leave their parent deanery need to complete an OOPT form.

We aim to publish expense policies where possible but do contact individual host Trusts/deaneries for specific information. Of note there is a short window between offer and acceptance (48 hours).

Lead Centre Transplant Unit

Duration of training
in 
transplant
unit (m)

Contact Email
Edinburgh Edinburgh 12 Peter Hayes p.hayes@ed.ac.uk

Birmingham

Birmingham 12 Dhiraj Tripathi dhiraj.tripathi@uhb.nhs.uk
Liverpool Birmingham 3 Paul Richardson paul.richardson@rlbuht.nhs.uk
Cambridge Cambridge 12 Bill Griffiths bill.griffiths@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Nottingham Cambridge 6 Guru Aithal guru.aithal@nottingham.ac.uk
Southampton Cambridge 3 Kate Nash kathryn.nash@uhs.nhs.uk 
Oxford Cambridge 3

Jeremy Cobbold

jeremy.cobbold@ouh.nhs.uk  

Leeds Leeds 12

Rebecca Jones (Leeds)

rebecca.jones36@nhs.net 

Leeds / Sheffield (x2 posts) Leeds 6 Rebecca Jones (Leeds)
Dermot Gleeson (Sheffield)
rebecca.jones36@nhs.net 
dermot.gleeson@sth.nhs.uk 
Newcastle Newcastle 12

Mark Hudson

mark.hudson@nuth.nhs.uk 
King's / Plymouth (x2 posts) King's 6 Matthew Cramp (Plymouth)
Michael Heneghan (King's)
matthew.cramp@nhs.net  
michael.heneghan@nhs.net  
Royal Free / London (x 2 posts) Royal Free 6 Richard Marley (R Lon)
Raj Mookerjee (R Free)
richard.marley@bartshealth.nhs.uk   
r.mookerjee@ucl.ac.uk  
 King's / St Mary's (x 2 posts)  King's  6  Michael Heneghan (K's)
Ashley Brown (St M)
michael.heneghan@nhs.net 
ashley.brown@imperial.nhs.uk  


 Back to Top