Introduction:

This section features information on training programmes and posts offered.

BSG/BASL Position Statement on Hepatology Training 

This statement has been produced in response to the rapid increase in the burden of liver disease in the UK and the need to ensure training in liver medicine delivers a clinical workforce able to meet current and future demand. Liver disease is now the commonest cause of premature death in men in the UK, and has resulted in a major rise in out- and in-patient episodes for patients with chronic liver disease which is having a significant impact on service and training needs.

Download BASL-BSG Training Statement 2019.pdf

Advanced Hepatology Training posts - 2022

The ATPs below are approved for advanced training in Hepatology, including experience in a transplant unit, with a view to subspecialty accreditation providing other requirements are met. Some posts will be more suited to future DGH hepatologists. NB ATPs are not mandatory for academic/NTN(A) trainees. The recruitment window will open via Oriel in November 2021 for approx. 4 weeks, with a view to interviewing for short-listed applicants during the early part of 2022. Interviewers will comprise Hepatology Leads from the host centres. Posts will commence in line with the national rotation date for Gastroenterology and any split posts will commence on the first Monday of the respective month. An ARCP will be required to demonstrate post completion and a Hepatology PYA will be completed to inform the JRCPTB that accreditation in Hepatology is expected at final ARCP.

The posts are aimed primarily at trainees who will be entering ST6 although entry at ST7 (not ST5) will also be permissible. Trainees need to complete the 12 months in order for the post to count towards accreditation. If a trainee exits a post early due to unforeseen circumstances (eg pregnancy, but not research) the trainee can be re-accommodated the following year. Trainees should not apply if their CCT date is before August 2023 – further advice should be sought from the parent LETB. Re LTFT, at 60% a trainee will have to do the post twice (and will be re-accommodated automatically). At 80% a trainee will be deemed to have completed the post after 12 months but accreditation will still require at least 18 months’ whole time equivalent of level 2 or 3 Hepatology training prior to CCT. If a successful candidate leaves their parent LETB an OOPT form may be required with usual notice..

Trainees are encouraged to contact individual host centres if require specific information ahead of application/interviews. Of note there is only a short window between offer and acceptance.

Hepatology ATPs available for 2022:

Lead Centre Transplant Unit

Duration of training
in 
transplant
unit (m)

Lead Centre Contact Email
Edinburgh Edinburgh 12 Carol Blair Carol.blair@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk 

Birmingham

Birmingham 12 Fiona Thompson fiona.thompson@uhb.nhs.uk 
Liverpool Birmingham 3 Ed Britton Edward.britton@liverpoolft.nhs.uk 
Cambridge Cambridge 12 Bill Griffiths bill.griffiths@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Nottingham Cambridge 6 Pete Eddowes Peter.eddowes2@nuh.nhs.uk 
Southampton Cambridge 3 Kate Nash kathryn.nash@uhs.nhs.uk 
Oxford Cambridge 3

Jane Collier

jane.collier1@nhs.net 

Leeds Leeds 12

Joanna Moore

Joanna.moore@nhs.net 

Sheffield (x2 posts)  Leeds 6 Barbara Hoeroldt Barbara.hoeroldt@sth.nhs.uk
Newcastle Newcastle 12

Steve Masson

steve.masson@nuth.nhs.uk 
Plymouth (x2 posts) King's 6

Aileen Smith

aileensmith4@nhs.net 
Royal Free* (London) Royal Free 6 Raj Mookerjee r.mookerjee@ucl.ac.uk  
Royal London* Royal Free  6 Vikram Sharma vikram.sharma@bartshealth.nhs.uk 
King's ** King's 6 Debbie Shawcross Debbie.shawcross@kcl.ac.uk 
St Mary's ** (London) King's 6 Heather Lewis heather.lewis4@nhs.net 
 * linked / ** linked
       

Join Basl - BASL Membership covers membership to BASL and all of it's sub-groups: BLNA, BVHG, BLTG, BHPG and HCC-UK. Click here to find out more. BASL Events - BASL and the BASL Sub Groups run an exciting and varied calendar of educational events throughout the year, as well as endorsing other not to miss events. Click here to Book Now.