Introduction:

This section features information on training programmes and posts offered:

Advanced Hepatology Training posts - 2019 entry

These ATPs are approved for advanced training in Hepatology, including experience in a transplant unit, with a view to subspecialty accreditation providing other requirements are met. They are not just for aspiring transplant hepatologists – equally valid for DGH Hepatology but some will be better suited. Posts are recruited through a standardised national process hosted by Health Education South London. The recruitment window will open in November for 4 weeks and interviewing will be held on Friday 11th January 2019 at the London Event Centre with interviewers from the host centres, typically a panel of 4 or 5. Posts will commence in line with the national rotation date for Gastroenterology. Of note academic trainees ie those holding an NTN(A), typically in a CL post, do not require an ATP year outwith their CL but must ensure 3 m in a transplant centre.

The posts are aimed primarily at trainees who will be entering ST6 although entry at ST5 or ST7 is also permissible. Trainees need to complete the 12 months in order for the post to count towards accreditation. If a trainee exits a post early due to unforeseen circumstances (eg pregnancy, but not research) the trainee can be re-accommodated in the post on return from leave without the need for re-application. Trainees should not apply if their CCT date will not allow post completion – further advice should be sought from the parent TPD/LETB. Regarding LTWT, at 60% a trainee will have to do the post twice (and will be re-accommodated automatically). At 80% a trainee will be deemed to have completed the post after 12 m but accreditation will require in addition 14 m whole time equivalent of Hepatology training (minimum 6 m level 1) prior to CCT. If a successful candidate leaves their parent LETB an OOPT form will be required for LETB admin purposes.

Trainees are encouraged to contact individual host centres if require specific information. Of note there is usually only a short window between offer and acceptance (48 hours).

Hepatology ATPs

Lead Centre Transplant Unit

Duration of training
in 
transplant
unit (m)

Contact Email
Edinburgh Edinburgh 12 Peter Hayes p.hayes@ed.ac.uk

Birmingham

Birmingham 12 Fiona Thompson Fiona.thompson@uhb.nhs.uk 
Liverpool Birmingham 3 Paul Richardson paul.richardson@rlbuht.nhs.uk
Cambridge Cambridge 12 Bill Griffiths bill.griffiths@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Nottingham Cambridge 6 Guru Aithal guru.aithal@nottingham.ac.uk
Southampton Cambridge 3 Kate Nash kathryn.nash@uhs.nhs.uk 
Oxford Cambridge 3

Jane Collier

jane.collier1@nhs.net 

Sheffield (x2 posts)  Leeds 6 Dermot Gleeson dermot.gleeson@sth.nhs.uk 
Leeds  Leeds 12

Rebecca Jones

rebecca.jones36@nhs.net 
Newcastle Newcastle 12

Mark Hudson

mark.hudson@nuth.nhs.uk 
Plymouth (x2 posts) King's 6

Louisa Vine

louisavine@nhs.net 
Royal Free (+ RL) Royal Free 6 Raj Mookerjee r.mookerjee@ucl.ac.uk  
Royal London Royal Free  6 Vikram Sharma Vikram.sharma@bartshealth.nhs.uk 
 King's (+ St M)  King's 6  Michael Heneghan michael.heneghan@nhs.net 
St Mary's King's 6 Heather Lewis Heather.lewis4@nhs.net 

Join Basl - BASL Membership covers membership to BASL and all of it's sub-groups: BLNA, BVHG, BLTG, BHPG and HCC-UK. Click here to find out more. BASL 2019 - The BASL Annual Meeting is the highlight of the BASL calendar and the main liver meeting in the UK. Strathclyde University, Glasgow, 18th - 20th September 2019 BASL Events - BASL and the BASL Sub Groups run an exciting and varied calendar of educational events throughout the year, as well as endorsing other not to miss events. Click here to Book Now.